Drug Test For Government Assistance

When it comes to the vast world of drugs, there are a plentiful of issues that come to mind. However there is one I feel does not get a lot of coverage or is discussed that I wish to bring to light. This topic is drug testing recipients on welfare and other public assistance program. One of the few reasons to which I relate to this topic is because for one it arises a many of time at the dinner table and I see how people abuse it in the area I am from.

Now before people think that I am a cold hearted S.O.B, I don’t believe that there is anything wrong with helping those in need, nor do I have a problem with welfare and other public assistance programs. What I do have a problem is seeing people with my own eyes sit around their butt doing drugs or drinking alcohol, not attempting to find a job or anything while there are people out there who are actually need it and are trying to get back on their feet.

The point that I am trying to bring across here is that I would like to see the amount of my tax dollars which contribute to welfare and other such public programs be put to better use. To put this in perspective, information from http://www.heritage.org/taxes/commentary/where-do-your-tax-dollars-go  says, “According to the latest Congressional Budget Office report on the distribution of federal taxes, Washington collects about $20,000 from the average household.” (1). In this collection, a part of it is known as income security, which includes welfare and takes almost 18% out this amount. To put into perspective that is an average of $3600.00 of your money that could potentially be going to people who are misusing it.

However, maybe this is not something that one has seen in their neighborhoods, or maybe have not even brought to mind that this is something that is happening around them or in the nation. Though data from http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=125387528 which was reported by Alan Greenblatt states that “ according to the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration…, which is part of the Department of Health and Human Services, found that 9.6 percent of people living in households that receive government assistance used illicit drugs in the previous month, compared with a 6.8 percent rate among families who receive no assistance.”

On one note the above data was from 2010 and I could not find any more recent data. Though from this, that is almost 10% of the people who are “reported” to be on drugs wasting your money. However I myself do not agree with this number. This is mainly because this involves only a selected few reported over which was probably through a random selection. I feel as though, even though it would not be economically possible, that if everyone was tested, we would see a much higher percentage of people on illicit drugs and government assistance programs such as welfare.

This idea of people on welfare and other public assistance programs is not a new idea or some type of regulation that has just popped up recently. Actually, according to NCLS at http://www.ncsl.org/research/human-services/drug-testing-and-public-assistance.aspx  “The 1996 welfare law bars states from providing TANF assistance to persons convicted of a felony for possession, use, or distribution of illegal drugs. However, it allows states to opt out of the ban or modify the period for which the ban applies. At least four states modified the ban to require those convicted of drug felony charges to comply with drug testing requirements as a condition of receiving benefits, including Maine, Minnesota, Pennsylvania and Wisconsin.”

Including the statement above, in the year 2009, over twenty states had proposed legislation requiring drug testing when applying for assistance programs. Back in 2016 there were seventeen that still had proposals. Then during this year, Arkansas passed legislation making their drug testing program permanent.

So even recently states are striving towards making this testing to have benefits a thing. I completely agree with this and am okay with my money going towards more testing if it means that people who actually need these welfare and benefits and or other assistance programs are getting them instead of those who continue to abuse the program and illicit drugs.

-Samuel Good lll

References

Greenblatt, Alan. (2010, March 31). Should Welfare Recipients Get Drug Testing? Retrieved September 21, 2017, from http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=125387528

Michel, Adam, & Bogie, Justin (2017, April 17). Where Do Your Tax Dollars Go? Retrieved September 21, 2017, from http://www.heritage.org/taxes/commentary/where-do-your-tax-dollars-go

Finzel, Rochelle. (2017, March 24). DRUG TESTING FOR WELFARE RECIPIENTS AND PUBLIC ASSISTANCE. Retrieved September 21, 2017, from http://www.ncsl.org/research/human-services/drug-testing-and-public-assistance.aspx

8 thoughts on “Drug Test For Government Assistance”

  1. Is this your blog, Colton? I wasn’t sure because you replied. This is an interesting issue to bring up in regards to drug use, because I often hear this rhetoric where I’m from given the heroin problem. However, this study has been replicated in other states and found even lower numbers. That is, there simply aren’t as many people sitting around doing drugs and collecting government assistance as one would think. Also, assistance to the poor is a very small part of our federal budget. Let’s think about this more critically and ask why people choose to focus on this aspect rather than others?

    Like

  2. I enjoyed reading your blog Sam, there are a couple notes I do have. something that is good about your blog is that it shows you have a passion for the issue which is necessary when trying to bring change in a nation. I was somewhat confused at the beginning of the blog when you were talking about the issue at hand, I think it would benefit me in the future if you could add a description of what is and isn’t being done when it comes to drug testing recipients (which states do or do not). Another thing I liked is that you gave statistics, however it can be difficult when there isn’t much recent data. One thing I would like to know is if you have a different kind of proposal for change other than the one you included in your post. Another thing I would like to hear more about is how the drugs affect recipients, and why it can be so negative upon their moral or work ethic.

    Like

  3. I have been saying this for who knows how long. I do not understand how so many people are getting money for doing nothing but other people, particularly people I know are not receiving money when they are working their butts off or cannot find employment even though they are seeking it but still do not have the money to support their family. It frustrates me that this is even a thing. I could go on for hours about this but your blog says it all. I did not realize how much of our tax goes to these people and they are just abusing it for their own personal use. I think the drug use is a great idea and like you, I would gladly put my tax dollars towards this program as long as it prevents people from abusing the welfare.

    Like

  4. Sam, I thought this article was a great read and a really informative on what is going on in our country. Like you, I have a hard time believing that only around 10 percent of the people who received government aid were reported to be on drugs. Coming from an area in the northeast (Philadelphia metropolitan), that has been hit especially hard with the opioid and heroin crisis, I have seen examples of this story. I actually know of some people back home more concerned with spending their government aid on drugs, than on getting back on their feet or helping their families. I do agree that this is something that should be stricter and more heavily tested, yet I just do not know how we could go about this. People always tend to find away around rules especially when it comes to ones plagued by addiction. I do think though that if they have not committed any felonies than it would be hard for them to be tested. We have to give citizens some sort of benefit of the doubt I guess, as hard as it may seem at times.

    Like

  5. I think it was good that you didn’t feel the need to cover up how you felt at the beginning of your post about “drug testing recipients on welfare and other public assistance programs,” but also addressed just exactly what you meant by that, not offense to welfare programs themselves; but offense to those who sit around doing nothing. I was not aware that from each household $20,000 is taken and roughly $3600 of that is going towards welfare programs. The fact that you have first-hand experience attests to the sincerity behind what you’re writing about. I agree that it is not economically possible, but I am curious what your recommendations would be in terms of fixing that fact. Whether adding on more taxes, or creating an entirely new program to fight against this effort? But again, the issue that you raised was not one I would have thought would have come up, so I am glad that you raised it in general.
    -syd bryan

    Like

  6. I can totally see merit in requiring drug tests in order to receive welfare benefit. It would separate those who are abusing the welfare system, and those who are actually utilizing the benefits in an effort to become financially self-sufficient. Additionally, drug testing could serve as a deterrent for recipients. There is no denying that our welfare system has room for improvement, and this may very well be a step in that direction.
    My only concern is those with drug addiction/dependency issues. For instance, an individual develops an opioid addiction while recovering from surgery. As addictions tend to do, the opioid dependency consumes this individual’s life and they end up losing their job and qualify for welfare. More likely than not, this person will end up spending most, if not all, of their benefits on drugs. But yanking away government help from a person who was obviously failed by the system isn’t right either. Perhaps drug testing could be implemented, but accompanied by treatment for drug addiction for those who need it. This way, we are ensured that individuals are not using their welfare benefits to contribute to their drug habit, but they are still getting the help that they need.

    Like

Leave a comment